top of page
  • Writer's pictureHopewell Township Democrats

Frisby, McLaughlin, Stokes Get Democratic Nod for County Commissioner

In a virtual meeting of more than 400 Mercer County Democratic County Committee members on March 18, former Hopewell Township Mayor and current Township Committee Member Kristin McLaughlin won the Democratic endorsement for County Commissioner. Incumbent County Commissioner Chair Samuel Frisby joined McLaughlin with a commanding first round victory, while first-time candidate Terrance Stokes won endorsement on the third round of electronic voting.

McLaughlin said: “I am honored to have earned the support of the Mercer County Democrats. I will continue my efforts to reach out to voters as I am thrilled to have the opportunity to represent you in Mercer County.”

The Board of County Commissioners is the county-wide legislative body, reviewing and adopting the County Budget, passing ordinances and resolutions, and gives advice and consent to the County Executive’s appointments. County Commissioners oversee funding of County education, social service, and other departments included in the 2021 proposed $332 million Mercer County Budget.

Governor Phil Murphy, who was also endorsed for re-election, kicked off the meeting with a message of Democratic unity as we emerge from the pandemic. The convention also endorsed State Senators Shirley Turner and Linda Greenstein, as well as Senate candidate Andrew Zwicker. Assembly Members Verlina Reynolds-Jackson, Anthony Verrelli, Roy Freiman, Dan Benson, and Wayne DeAngelo were endorsed for re-election to the State Assembly, along with former Montgomery Mayor Sadaf Jaffer.

The candidates will compete in the Primary Election on June 8, followed by the General Election on November 2.

14 views0 comments


Die Kommentarfunktion wurde abgeschaltet.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page